Town Hall for a Public Utility with All Rochester City Councilmembers At-Large

Fed up with RG&E? You're not alone! Last October, nearly 150 people came to our Town Hall for a Public Utility with City Council Vice President Mary Lupien. This December, we're having a second town hall and have invited At-Large Rochester City Councilmembers to listen. 

If you live in Fairport, your power company is actually under public, local, and community control. Rochester residents deserve the same options.  With data, research, and your support, Rochester City Council can formally study turning our Gas & Electric supplier into a public utility.  But to do that, they need to hear from you!

Come to the second Rochester for Energy Democracy Town Hall meeting with At-Large Rochester City Councilmembers, to share your challenges with RG&E customer service and crushing rate increases, and learn how you can join the movement to replace RG&E with public utility.  Your stories will also help guide City Council as they consider possible next steps to replace RG&E with a community-owned utility that will be more affordable, accountable, and climate-conscious.

RG&E, a for-profit company owned by Iberdrola based in Spain, extracts $95 million a year in profits from our community with little reinvestment. RG&E files to increase our rates every few years; and has just filed for a 20% rate hike- almost double the increase granted in 2020.  All at a time when Rochester’s families are facing staggering cost of living increases.   

Fairport, Spencerport, and Churchville all have public utilities; we would like to hear if you think Rochester should too! This Town Hall meeting will be held on Monday, December 19th from 6-8 PM at the Gleason Auditorium of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County (115 South Avenue). Arrive at 5:15 PM for free food, sponsored by Metro Justice, from Rob's Kabobs Food Truck prior to the start of the town hall!

The event will be livestreamed at Metro Justice's Facebook page and available to watch there after the event. 

Parking and directions:

- We recommend parking in the Court Street Garage next to the library, or finding street parking.

- The Rochester Public Library has 2 buildings. The Gleason Auditorium is in the building that is connected to the Court Street Parking Garage, and you can enter that library building through the doors on the corner of South Avenue and Broad Street. There will be a sign! 

December 19, 2022 at 6:00pm - 8pm
Gleason Auditorium of the Central Library of Rochester & Monroe County
115 South Ave
Rochester, NY 14604
United States
Google map and directions
Mohini Sharma · · 585-397-3534
Dexter Craig Mark Westcott Ann Tippett Joseph O'Heaney P.R. Griffis Ashley Messer Frederick McAllister Courtney Floom Trelawney Jenkins Christopher Coleman Maria B Quagliana Elizabeth Henderson Leigh Kwiatek Kieran Bushey Aly Belknap Michael Harold James Murphy Thomas Vergari Brian Managan Yvonne Hylton Dawn Borch Barlue Allen Shawn Hagan Judith Boyd Michael Tomb Theresa Harris Roosevelt Murray Susan Hughes Smith Albert Blankley Seth Oser Brett Peters Tim Nolan AnDrea Carrigan Rome Celli Robin Engel Cara Guth Rachel Heberling Jim Berger Jonathan Hardin Brad Winderl Kim Benson Darlene Henri Crystal Shorter Judith Curtin Cheryl Winchell Marybeth Knowles Matthew Shackelford Dylan Welch

Who's RSVPing

Alexis Mayfield
Amber Gibbs
Marissa Burkland
Beal St. George
Diane Sheffield
James Bearden
Haley Hill
Diana Ellison Green
Laurie Ammering
Maxine Manjos
Devante Latham
Matthew Ehlers
Christina Das
Dominique Thompson
Scout Morgan
Grant M
Ron Davis
Dexter Craig
Mark Westcott
Ann Tippett
Joseph O'Heaney
P.R. Griffis
Ashley Messer
Frederick McAllister
Courtney Floom
Trelawney Jenkins
Christopher Coleman
Maria B Quagliana

Will you come?

Showing 135 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Alexis Mayfield
    rsvped 2022-12-15 19:57:14 -0500
  • Amber Gibbs
    rsvped 2022-12-15 19:48:08 -0500
  • Marissa Burkland
    rsvped 2022-12-15 19:31:19 -0500
  • Beal St. George
    rsvped 2022-12-15 18:21:09 -0500
  • Diane Sheffield
    rsvped 2022-12-15 17:35:25 -0500
  • James Bearden
    rsvped 2022-12-15 13:19:27 -0500
  • Haley Hill
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:56:22 -0500
  • Diana Ellison Green
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:55:18 -0500
  • Laurie Ammering
    rsvped +2 2022-12-15 11:43:55 -0500
  • Maxine Manjos
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:21:49 -0500
  • Devante Latham
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:21:01 -0500
  • Matthew Ehlers
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:19:59 -0500
  • Christina Das
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:11:25 -0500
  • Allison
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:10:04 -0500
  • Dominique Thompson
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:07:55 -0500
  • Destinee
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:07:13 -0500
  • Scout Morgan
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:06:33 -0500
  • Grant M
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:05:38 -0500
  • Ron Davis
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:04:46 -0500
  • Dexter Craig
    rsvped 2022-12-15 11:03:48 -0500
  • Mark Westcott
    rsvped 2022-12-15 09:29:04 -0500
  • Ann Tippett
    rsvped +1 2022-12-15 08:18:57 -0500
  • Joseph O'Heaney
    rsvped 2022-12-14 19:50:23 -0500
  • P.R. Griffis
    rsvped 2022-12-14 19:49:36 -0500
  • Ashley Messer
    rsvped 2022-12-14 19:44:42 -0500
  • Frederick McAllister
    rsvped 2022-12-14 19:41:14 -0500
  • Courtney Floom
    rsvped 2022-12-14 12:55:43 -0500
  • Trelawney Jenkins
    rsvped 2022-12-14 10:40:57 -0500
  • Christopher Coleman
    rsvped 2022-12-14 10:28:48 -0500
  • Maria B Quagliana
    rsvped 2022-12-14 08:13:12 -0500

Donate What We Do Events


get updates